The Board of Banking Review is established under Mississippi Code Section 81-3-12. The Board is charged with the responsibility of approving appointment of a deputy commissioner and ruling on applications of new bank and trust company charters, bank conversion charters, as well as denied and protested branch applications.

The Board is comprised of five (5) members appointed by the Governor, one (1) from each of the three (3) Supreme Court Districts knowledgeable in economic affairs with a recognized ability in a trade or business and two (2) members at large who are active officers or directors of state-chartered banks. All appointments are with the advice and consent of the Senate.

Each member shall hold office until a successor is appointed and qualified.

Members of the State Board of Banking Review

Mr. Clayton Legear
Merchants & Marine Bank
P.O. Box 729
Pascagoula, MS 39568
Appointed: 7-27-2021
Term Expires: 3-23-2026


Ms. Tammy Phillips
Community Bank
P.O. Box 320849
Flowood, MS 39232
Appointed:  5-23-2022
Term Expires: 2/22/2027

1st Supreme Court District
Mr. Philip Roger Blaylock
Regions Bank
1031 Highland Colony Pkwy.
Ridgeland, MS 39157
Appointed:  6-29-2022
Term Expires:  3-23-2027


2nd Supreme Court District
Mr. Ricky J. Cox
Balch & Bingham, LLP
1310 Twenty Fifth Avenue
Gulfport, MS  39501-1931
Appointed:  3-24-2023
Term Expires:  3-23-2028

3rd Supreme Court District
Theresa Brady Goldberg
Appointed:  12-15-2021
Term Expires:  3-23-2026


* Members may serve after their term expires.

Scroll to Top